Early Career Investigator (ECI) network

The aim of the Early Career Investigator (ECI) network within HERALD is to promote the next generation of ALD scientists and to help them to establish themselves as research leaders in the ALD community. We organize workshops where the ECIs can meet to exchange ideas on career moves, grant applications and possible collaborations. 

If you are interested in joining this network, please contact us on heraldeci@gmail.com. Broadening out the COST definition of ECI, we welcome investigators from within a year of submitting their PhD dissertation to PhD+10 years - however, these are not strict limits.

Upcoming activities:

3rd ECI workshop: Science communication and mapping a future road for ECIs - November 8-9, 2018 - Institute of Electrical Engineering SAS, Bratislava, Slovakia - Organized by Ivan Kundrata and Maksym Plakhotnyuk

Past activities:

  1. Kick-off event at Joint EuroCVD 21 / Baltic ALD 15 Conference  - June 11-14, 2017 - Linköping, Sweden
  2. HERALD ECI network meeting on "Career Development" - August 28-29, 2017 - Ghent, Belgium
  3. 2nd HERALD ECI Workshop with hands-on training for "bonding HERALD ECIs from ideas to proposals" - 1-2 March 2018 - ICMAB (Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona) in Barcelona, Spain - Organized by Mariona Coll, Maximilian Gebhard, and Marcel Junige

HERALD ECI committee:

Members HERALD ECI network
Name Affiliation Country
Laura Borgese InSTM and University of Brescia, Smart Solutions srl Italy
Aafke Bronneberg Dutch Institute for Fundamental Energy Research (Differ) Netherlands
Hao Bui Delft University of Technology Netherlands
Mariona Coll ICMAB-CSIC, Barcelona Spain
Jolien Dendooven Ghent University Belgium
Petro Deminsky Linköping University Sweden
Karol Frohlich Slovak Academy of Sciences Slovakia
Max Gebhard Ruhr-University Bochum Germany
Zhongmei Han University of Helsinki Finland
Philipp Hönicke Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt Germany
Alexander Hufnagel University of Munich Germany
Aneeta Jaggernauth Universidade de Aveiro Portugal
Marcel Junige Technische Universität Dresden Germany
Bora Karasulu  University of Cambridge United Kingdom
Martin Knaut Technische Universität Dresden Germany
Harm Knoops Eindhoven University of Technology & Oxford Instruments Netherlands
Ivan Kundrata Slovak Academy of Sciences Slovakia
Bart Macco Eindhoven University of Technology Netherlands
Adrie Mackus Eindhoven University of Technology Netherlands
Harry Manley Tyndall National Institute Ireland
Miia Mäntymäki University of Helsinki Finland
Catherine Marichy Université de Lyon France
Giovanni Marin Aalto University Finland
Felix Mattelaer Ghent University Belgium
Ville Miikkulainen University of Helsinki Finland
Mari Napari University of Cambridge United Kingdom
Henrik Pedersen Linköping University Sweden
Maksym Plakhotnyuk Technical University of Denmark Denmark
Riikka Puurunen Aalto University Finland
Aleksandra Radtke Nicolaus Copernicus University, Toruń Poland
Iva Saric University of Rijeka Croatia
Mahdi Shirazi Eindhoven University of Technology Netherlands
Nathanaelle Schneider R&D Institute on PV Energy (IRDEP) France
Matthieu Weber European Institute of Membranes (IEM) France
Robert Zierold Universität Hamburg Germany