PhD positions open in HYCOAT - a European Training Network for Functional Hybrid Coatings by Molecular Layer Deposition

HYCOAT is a European Training Network for Functional Hybrid Coatings by Molecular Layer Deposition, funded by the European Union in the framework of the H2020 Marie Skłodowska Curie Actions – Innovative Training Networks. A coordinated effort of 10 beneficiaries and 16 partner organizations from 7 European countries (Belgium, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway and Spain), HYCOAT targets the development of novel precursor chemistries, processes, characterisation and modelling of Molecular Layer Deposition (MLD) and the demonstration of hybrid coatings in packaging, biomedical applications, electronics and batteries.

15 funded PhD positions are now open across the HYCOAT network, so please pass word on to potential PhD students.

Molecular Layer Deposition (MLD) is a vapour phase deposition technique for hybrid thin films based on successive self-limiting surface reactions. In several aspects, MLD resembles the now mainstream technique of Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD). However, where ALD is limited to exclusively inorganic coatings, the precursor chemistry in MLD is expanded to include organics and enables linking both types of building blocks together in a controlled way to build up organic-inorganic hybrid materials.

The key objective of HYCOAT is to create a group of exceptionally well-trained young researchers who have a deep understanding of all aspects of MLD technology, as well as broad vision on the application potential of hybrid coatings. Therefore, via training-through-research projects and training events, the HYCOAT consortium aims to

  • establish novel MLD deposition chemistries and process schemes,
  • enable fabrication of hybrid thin films with tailor-made and novel properties,
  • gain a deep understanding of the molecular mechanisms during MLD processes, and to
  • develop dedicated, industrially scalable reactor concepts for MLD-type processes.

HYCOAT is coordinated by the COCOON group at Ghent University ( The other partners where PhD students will be studying are:

  • Aalto University (Prof. Maarit Karppinen)
  • CIC nanoGune (Prof. Mato Knez)
  • Ghent University (Dr. Jolien Dendooven and Prof. Christophe Detavernier)
  • IMEC (Prof. Philippe Vereecken)
  • KULeuven (Prof. Rob Ameloot)
  • Ruhr-Universität Bochum (Prof. Anjana Devi and Dr. Harish Parala)
  • TNO (Dr. Paul Poodt)
  • Tyndall National Institute (Dr. Simon Elliott)
  • University of Helsinki (Prof. Markku Leskelä and Prof. Mikko Ritala)
  • University of Oslo (Prof. Ola Nilsen)

More information, including on how to apply for one of the 15 PhD positions can be found at  The application deadline is 8th January 2018.